Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes December 11, 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Pradeep Kumar called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. November 2014 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Pradeep Kumar, Faculty Senate Chair

Proclamation

 After a fanfare titled "The Machen Fanfare" written by Music students Sean Bocinsky and Lucas Owen, Pradeep Kumar submitted a proclamation reading:

WHEREAS, President J. Bernard Machen has served the University of Florida with great compassion, wisdom and forbearance; and WHEREAS, President J. Bernard Machen has served the University of Florida with great compassion, wisdom and forbearance; and WHEREAS, President Machen came to the office at the beginning of the implementation of shared governance at the University of Florida, and he oversaw its initiation and supported shared governance throughout his tenure and through many challenges; and

WHEREAS, nearly half of his tenure was under seriously adverse economic conditions, and through it all he provided steady leadership, forthright communication and visionary plans for a sustainable recovery on an upward trajectory;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT PROCLAIMED that the Faculty Senate of the University of Florida, at its regular meeting this 11^{th} day of December, 2014, recognizes President J. Bernard Machen's most commendable service to the Faculty of the University of Florida.

The Senate approved this unanimously.

Action Items:

• Graduate Council

Paul Duncan, Assoc. Dean, Graduate School

- o New Major Sustainable Construction
 - This item was approved
- o Close Major MAT Philosophy
 - This item was approved
- Proposed Revision of Bylaw 20(A)(2)(b)2

Christine Fruin, Chair, Constitution Committee

CURRENT

(A)(2)(b)2 Academic Personnel Board.

The President will appoint six members, three of whom will be selected from a slate of nominees elected by the Faculty Senate from the faculty at large. All nominees must hold the rank of professor or above with strong teaching and research records, selected from a variety of disciplines. Three times as many nominees as openings will be provided annually. The Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee.

The Academic Personnel Board advises the President with respect to promotion and tenure nominations, serving in a fact-finding and consultative role.

PROPOSED (approved by Constitution Committee 10/10/14 and 11/21/14) (A)(2)(b)2 Academic Personnel Board.

The President will appoint ten members, five of whom will be selected from a slate of nominees elected by the Faculty Senate from the faculty at large. All faculty nominees must be senior-ranked faculty members with strong teaching and research records, selected from a variety of disciplines. Eligible faculty members are those who have attained the highest promotional rank in the faculty title series to which they are appointed and who do not also have an academic administrative appointment. Three times as many nominees as openings will be provided annually. The Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee. The Academic Personnel Board advises the President with respect to promotion and tenure nominations, serving in a fact-finding and consultative role. The President may divide the Academic Personnel Board into more than one working group to expedite the review of nominations.

This item was approved.

University Curriculum Committee

Bernard Mair, Assoc. Provost Undergraduate Affairs

- Approve Academic Calendar for 2018-2019
 - David Groisser stated that he checked the state holidays and found that if a holiday falls on the weekend, it is to be observed on Friday or Monday. He is concerned that there are too many holidays in November and Homecoming continue in October.
 - Bernard suggested that he would welcome a discussion by faculty and creation of a new university policy that would change the observance of Veteran's Day. The 2018-2019 draft calendar is constructed under existing policy.
 - This item was approved.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

- David Groisser was concerned about homecoming scheduled in November instead of October. He pointed out that the reason given for not having homecoming October 3 was because alumni would not like it. In 2005, homecoming was on October 8 and 2006 it was October 7. The idea that Oct 3 would be too early does not bear up under historical evidence.
- Clay Calvert stated that some in his college have raised the issue starting terms seems to be inconsistent at times, sometimes starting on Mondays and others on Tuesday.
- President Machen agreed that the calendar issue is an important matter. He tried twice to get
 the faculty's and student's attention about our calendar the way it is so scattered. He
 commends that the appropriate faculty senate committee take a serious look at the entire
 academic calendar.

Meeting adjourned at 3:28 p.m.

Senators Attending

Carrie Adams Pasha Antonenko Derek Barber Page 2 Ramon Bautista Jim Bice Trevor Bopp

Gary Boulware Dimitri Bourilkov Jeannine Brady Kendal Broad George Pringle Jason Butler **Cindy Prins** Clay Calvert Patrick Reakes **Edward Chan** Sarah Reuss Don Cohen Mary Risner Christa Cook Jeffrey Rollins Paul Davenport Andrew Rosalsky Tammy Davidson Peter Saveski Julie Dodd John Schueller Nipa Shah Silvio dos Santos

Julie Dodd John Schueller
Silvio dos Santos Nipa Shah
Robert Emerson Elizabeth Shephard
Kitty Emery Steve Shugan
Roger Fillingim Maya Stanfield-Mazzi

Kate Fogarty Keith Stanfill
Lyn Gettys Nicole Stedman
Renee Goodrich Stacey Steinberg
David Groisser Laurie Taylor

Jacob Hammer Margaret Temple-Smith

Peter Hansen Ray Thomas Linda Hayward Sonal Tuli

Darryl Heard Heather Vincent
Phyllis Hendry Katie Vogel-Anderson
Cindy Higgins Ann Wehmeyer
Alice Holmes Sandra Wilson
Amanda House Caroline Wiltshire

Aida Hozic Yafeng Yin

Ray Issa Mary Ellen Young Rae Jesano

Melissa Johnson
Edith Kaan
Christine Fruin
Joseph Katz
Marc Heft
Mary Agnes Keith
Pradeep Kumar
Hayk Khachatryan
Angel Kwolek-Folland

Dmitry Kopelevich Bernie Machen Dragan Kujundzic Barbara Wingo

Mei-Fang Lan
Sherry Larkin
Lora Levett
Students
Josh Neumann

Gillian Lord
Guests
Gene McAvoy
Kimberly Moore
Paul Mueller
Brian Marchman

Oscar Liburd

Larry Muszynski Esther Obonyo Walter O'Dell Anna Peterson Andrew Pitkin Caryn Plummer Mario Poceski